Meeting the LEAD interns: Lupita

How did you first hear about RYAA?

Two years ago I decided I wanted to play club soccer. I started with one team here in East Palo Alto and then I met Shannon. I really like Shannon. Once I asked him for help with my homework and he said. “Ok, but I only have 45 minutes” Because he had to go do yard work. We finished three hours later! I coached soccer once and Shannon told me that I should apply to LEAD. I really like

What do you like about soccer?

I like competition. I also really like running. But I like running as a part of a game!

Where do you go to school?

Eastside College Prep here in East Palo Alto. I’ll be a senior next year. My school is great. They are very supportive and they want me and my friends to succeed. 

What subjects do you most enjoy?

I really like studying science like biology and chemistry. Maybe I like biology a little bit more. I used to like math but it’s gotten a lot more difficult lately. I really like doing the biology experiments. I also really like the outdoors, nature, hiking and animals—especially when we do dissections. It’s cool to see how complicated our world is.

Are you hoping to study science at college?

No, I actually want to study communications. Maybe somewhere like St. Mary’s College.

Why Communications?

I think it would give me the skills to achieve my dream. I want to open a school like [the school she attends] but I would start at kindergarten and go through high school. I know it would be a lot of really hard work. But it’s really important to me and I’m determined to work on it. That’s been something I’ve actually been learning recently: if I Iset my mind to something and work hard, I can do it.

Lupita

Why do you want to open a school?

I enjoy working with kids. I’ve appreciated my school and think it’s important to see more of them, but I don’t want to be a teacher. I’ve been volunteering at the Girls2Women program since I was a freshman. I’ve been organizing games and spending time with them and they have helped me to remember the important things in life. 

You must be looking forward to LEAD then.

I’m very excited for LEAD. I think I have a lot of patience so kids listen to me when I talk to them. I’m excited to see how I will grow in the classes and I look forward to working with other LEAD interns and getting to know them better. 

Leave a Reply

